TQ3179 : Above an exit, Waterloo Station, 2009


Unfortunately a view of the whole exit is now cut in two by a high level shopping gallery, the deck running just below ‘Isle of Wight’ and ‘Cornwall’. All is preserved, however. The stained glass incorporates the London and South Western Railway coat of arms. The counties reached by the railway are arranged in order of distance from Waterloo, reading the left batch downwards and then the right downwards. The Isle of Wight was only reached by the LSWR jointly with the LBSCR by operating the ferry and a short stretch of line in Ryde, the rest was independent. I am currently baffled by ‘Bucks’, although it is true the southern extremity of the county has changed hands from time to time.

PS Datchet and Wraysbury stations were in Buckinghamshire when the rebuilt Waterloo was opened in 1922.